Producer Showcase: Kasket

Last week, Screwloose signee Kasket dropped his stunning 4Her EP – and in the wake of the release, I caught up with the South Londoner to find out a little bit more about the EP, his influences and how the hell he makes those incredible percussive lines. Catch the interview after the jump, but while you do – take a listen below to this freely downloadable mix by the man himself, and if that’s your thing, be sure to grab the EP from Beatport HERE.

For those who aren’t familiar with you, introduce who you are and what you do…

My name’s Charlie Baldwin (Kasket). I’m 22, from the south of UK and I’m a drummer/ producer and sound FX designer.

By the looks of things, you had a fairly musical upbringing – how has this influenced your music as it is today?

It’s really made me enjoy making all styles of music. I guess being in that environment as a kid made me understand the qualities of all different types of music… every day I would wake up hearing a jazz record or classical or even hard rock…. it’s a good thing but a problem as I can never stick to one genre! But at the same time I wouldn’t want to.

Are there any artists in particular who influence your sound, or that you look up to right now?

I would say Björk is one artist I have always been influenced by. I really like her voice and her tracks are always such a pleasure to listen to. And Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails) has always been one as well, Regina Spektor and definitely Thomas Newman.

Last week you released your 4Her EP on Screwloose – tell us a little bit about the release… how did the relationship with the label come about, and what kind of vibe were you trying to achieve with the EP?

It was quite random. I always liked Screwloose as they had such great tunes out (“Arika” by Koan Sound being one of them). I made the tune “4Her” pretty much the day I sent it over to Loko online. A kinda shot in the dark really as its not at all a dubstep track. But they liked what they heard and more tunes came. Then it rolled from them! Really great working with them.

What influences you when you write and produce your music?

It’s never just one thing that influences me in making something. But if I had to pick one I would have to say a lot of tribal sounds. Drums in general. People like Airto Moreira or even Jo Jo mayor I’ll hear a beat or a sound they do and really want to make something like that. I guess as I play drums it kinda stands out to me more.

For all your fellow producers out there, what’s your technical set-up?

I use Ableton to work on. And a virus B for a lot of my synths, and various different samples from anywhere… and of course a lot of percussion I record in.

What can people expect from your live shows? What’s been your favourite gig of your career so far?

Well with the live show it’s much more of a journey, I guess. It’s high energy with low spacey drops and full on live percussion which I use… it’s really fun to do,Ii hope to play the live set much more these days as I feel it can bring more to the table.

And I guess my favourite gig I’ve done so far was the first time I played the live set in Brighton. Was such a buzz, really felt good and the reaction was really nice too!

Tell us one thing that most people don’t know about you…

I’m comic book fanatic.

Your productions sound like they use a hell of a lot of sampling – especially the percussive line… what kind of stuff do you sample?

Anything i can find, I’ll do trips to junkyards and find stuff to sample. It’s amazing what you can find doing this… some of my snare drums I’ve made are just from slamming doors and chucking a plastic bottle at a wall. And even recording rain hitting a window. It keeps your ideas flowing and you’ll get a new sound every time.

What does the rest of 2012 hold for you?

Well a few more releases in the pipeline and some remixes. I have my first 12″ release with Apollo Records in August as well as a music video in the works for that EP. And at the moment working on my album for Apollo too, hopefully working more with the Screwloose records team as well . And I hope to be gigging the live set and expanding it.

“UK bass music” seems to be a sort of umbrella term that’s making a resurgence right now… Where do you see it going in the next 12 months? Where do you see yourself figuring in the scene?

It’s really hard to say where it will go, it keeps growing and getting bigger.. but music does have a habit of repeating itself in styles, I’m hearing a lot of people making the old school house vibes again, witch is cool! So who knows.. maybe we will go back to using Moogs and sampling off records again and recording on analog tape.

But I hope in a way to find a place for my music, as I’ve said, I never stick to one area of music; but I hope people like what they hear.

Kasket on Facebook | Soundcloud

Leave a Reply

