Producer Showcase: Nokej

A few days ago, we were given the privilege of premiering a brand new tune from young Swedish electro producer Nokej in the form of his “Centipede” remix. And off the back of that, we’ve linked up to conduct another interview for our ‘Producer Showcase’ series, which aims to give you lot an insight into what goes on inside the minds of some of the most promising producers around. So, catch the introductory interview below and be sure to like Nokej on Facebook HERE. This guy’s just finding his feet right now, but with the standard of recent releases, it wouldn’t surprise me if his time comes sooner than you’d think.

Introduce yourself for those who may not be familiar with your music…

I’m a 17 year old electro producer who lives in a small town in Sweden called Katrineholm
I like food, sleeping and hanging out with my friends and girlfriend and, of course, making music.

How would you describe your sound?

I would say heavy bass and heavy drums.

Who would you say are your influences when it comes to making music?

Ephixa, Stephen walking, Knife Party, xKore and Zedd. After i heard the Lost Woods remix by Ephixa I started to produce music myself, so he’s the reason why I do it.

For all the technical people out there, what’s your set-up?

Haha, that’s a funny question. Erm, I’ve got a pair of Alesis m1active 520usb studio monitors, a Presonus hd7 headset which I bought today (I got tired of my old ones that I have saved by duct taping them together), I’ve got a Korg midi keyboard that doesn’t work and I got a Focusrite Saffire 6 USB sound card. Not a lot of stuff, as you can see.

What was your first experience with making music?

The first experience I had with making music was when I played in a band a few years back. We wrote a few songs and had some gigs but nothing serious. It wasn’t until last year around the end of June, that I came in contact of making electronic music but when I did I totally fell in loved with it.

If you could collaborate with anyone in the world, who would it be?

Wow.. Stephen Walking for sure!

Good choice…your most recent track, the “Centipede” remix, has been supported by none other than Rob Swire, amongst others… how does that feel?

Incredible. When i first found out that Rob Swire had heard my song and liked it I didn’t believe it. It is so huge to me and it really gives you motivation to hear someone who has made music that you loved over so many years say that you’ve got talent. It’s crazy. And to all other that have been supporting my music these past days, I love you guys.

To wrap up – what can we expect from you in the coming weeks and months?

More tracks, both originals and remixes and hopefully some awesome collaborations.

Thanks a lot to Nokej for his time!

Nokej on Facebook | Soundcloud | Twitter

Leave a Reply

