Producer Showcase: Fytch

Despite being on this Earth for a meagre 16 years, production prodigy Fytch has already made serious headway. He’s racked up millions of hits on his YouTube channel, gained masses of adoring fans, and had his track “Raindrops” released on Borgore’s esteemed Buygore imprint. So, as a part of a new feature on here, I caught up with Fytch to ask him some questions about his music, set-up, plans for the future among other things. Catch that, along with some of my favourite tracks of his after the jump. So excited about this guy’s future.

Introduce who you are and what you do…

Well, I’m “Fytch”, I’m 16 and I live in the Netherlands. I am half French, half Croatian and I am a Dubstep producer.

How long have you been involved in music for?

I’ve been producing for just under a year and a half. Other than that, however, I’ve been playing guitar for 11 years and piano for 3. Really, I’ve been involved with music my whole life.

What motivated you to start producing dubstep?

A friend of made me listen to some Dubstep about 2 years ago and I didn’t really like it at first. Then with time, it grew on me and in the summer holidays of 2010, I heard Flux Pavilion’s remix of cracks and it made me want to really get into Dubstep production. Before that, I had done some experimental tracks but nothing too serious, after I heard the remix, I started listening to a lot of Dubstep and that’s really when production kicked off.

Who are your main musical influences?

Bare Noize, Flux Pavilion and Gemini have all been big influences even though these days I consider Xilent and Noisia to be my biggest influences.

How would you describe your sound in three words?

Complex, Relaxed but Powerful.

For all the technical people out there, what’s your setup?

Well my setup doesn’t really consist of much. I have a 14 inch HP laptop and a pair of KRK 8400 headphones which I just bought recently. As a midi keyboard I have an old Logitech Evolution keyboard even though I usually just use the computer keyboard when I need to try out notes.

Which song of yours did you have most fun producing?

I had great fun producing my Eminem Mash Up which I actually worked on with a very good friend of mine, “Jaysty” who happens to be an amazing musician.

What does 2012 hold in store for you? Record deal? Tour?

So far for 2012, I released “The Forest EP” on the 20th of January and my big release including “Wake Up” and “Mind Your Step” should come later this year. As for gigs, I will probably do a few shows here and there but I am trying not to get my mind off of school too much at the moment. Since my release of Raindrops, I have gotten quite close with Buygore and made contact with some of the artists on the label. I’m pretty comfortable where I am and that’s why I haven’t been looking for a label to get signed on.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FytchDubstep

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/FytchDubstep

Leave a Reply

