The Battle of The Remixes: Gotye – Somebody That I Used To Know (Owsey vs. M-Phazes)

If you’ve been reading Soundhall since the very start (which I know that literally nobody has done), you’ll know that the third or fourth thing that I wrote was the inaugural ‘Battle of The Remixes’. It consisted of the Rizzle Kicks and Akala reworks of the Arctic Monkeys’ track “Old Yellow Bricks”, and nobody took any goddamn notice of it. You can check it out HERE if you’re interested, or if you want to have a chuckle at how I used to write on here.

But I digress. For some reason, I felt the irrepressible need to bring this feature back. Not least because I found two top-drawer remixes, but can’t decide for shit which one’s better.

On the back of Gotye’s smash hit “Somebody That I Used To Know” finally topping the UK singles chart on Sunday, I decided that I’d have a little public vote to see which producer has conjured up the best rework of this future classic. If you’ve been living under a rock for the last few weeks, check out the original HERE, before progressing. Otherwise this will all just be meaningless nonsense to you.

So the two tracks that I’ve chosen to battle it out (figuratively) are contributions from Owsey and M-Phazes. Check them out below, and vote just below. (By the way, I’m not trying to condone any sort of one-upmanship here, I’m just looking for people’s thoughts on two extraordinary pieces of music.

In the blue corner… Gotye – Somebody That I Used To Know (Owsey Remix)

I absolutely love Owsey’s music. His brand of chilled, atmospheric electronic music has been taking over my iTunes library recently, and never fails to make me feel every note of the music. This guy has been gaining a lot of recognition recently, and this particular remix is set to be played on Mary Anne Hobbs’ XFM show tonight (15th February). I’ve got a lot of love for this tune, which develops into something slightly more uptempo than his other pieces: perfect for headphone listening in your own little secluded world. Beautiful. [Owsey Faceboook]

In the red corner… Gotye – Somebody That I Used To Know (M-Phazes Remix)

Taking a slightly alternative route to the former, Australian producer M-Phazes injects the track with a little R&B flavour, making for a strikingly interesting listen. While this served as my introduction to this guy, I was absolutely blown away by the standard of the rest of his stuff. This one in particular sounds so brilliantly clean and well-produced, using the chorus to create an almost euphoric sound. Check out his effort below, simply incredible stuff. [M-Phazes Facebook]

________________________________________________________________________

You can download Gotye’s sophomore album ‘Making Mirrors from iTunes HERE. Get on that.

Leave a Reply

